Back to the sources:the rebirth of a forgotten repertory

The ensemble Artemandoline


With their ensemble Artemandoline, formed in 2001, Juan Carlos Muñoz and Mari Fe Pavón chose to go back to the original documents in order to the establish the true pedigree of this incomparable family of instruments. They have made a major contribution to launching a movement to encourage musical freshness and rigour. A better understanding of the compositions, closer study of the early treatises, the playing styles, the musical environment of the glorious era of the mandolin, leads to better appreciation of Baroque music, which itself became over time a mode of thought and action.

The success of this approach based on a return to the sources, which constitutes the most important development in the history of the interpretation of ‘serious’ music in the course of the twentieth century, has been made possible by the cooperation of many protagonists – musicians, but also concert organisers, recording producers, publishers, musicologists, and instrument makers. Very quickly awarded prizes by the critics and enthusiastically acclaimed by the public, Artemandoline’s performances always create new impulsions. Its musicians dedicate their time and their talents to the revival of the mandolin on the musical scene, participating in the current expansion of interest in it all over the world through their conservatory teaching and masterclasses, their concerts, and their publications. Artemandoline is one of the pioneers in this domain, in which it has forged an international reputation.

In a few short years, the ensemble has found its style, proved its instrumental quality, and thereby constituted a veritable identity. Soon after its formation, it took its place among the foremost ensembles in the realm of historical performance practice on plucked strings. Audiences and critics alike were immediately filled with enthusiasm for its lively musical style. The musicians who make up the ensemble play on period instruments: Baroque mandolins, Renaissance and Baroque guitar, Baroque mandola and mandolone, Renaissance lute, treble lutes, mandolins from Brescia and Cremona.

They are regularly invited to appear at early music festivals in France and abroad, including:

Konzerthaus BerlinFestival de musique ancienne de SimianeFestival de musique ancienne de Saint-Guilhem-le-DésertFestival des musiques anciennes de l’Abbaye de SylvanèsEncontros de Música Antiga de Loulé« Stockholm Early Music Festival »« Bach Chamber Days », Riga« Tage Alter Musik Regensburg »Festival Musique et Nature à BaugesFestival de Musique Ancienne du MaraisFestival de Musique Baroque en Famenne ArdenneFestival de Chisinau, Moldavia

Early Music Festival BelgradeStockstädter MusiktageMiercurea Early Festival (Romania)Münsterland FestivalGröpelinger BarockFestival 1001 NotesBrunico Music FestivalGaudete Early Music FestivalMonza e Brianza Early Music FestivalFestival « Musique & Nature à Bauges »Wroclaw Cantans « Forum Musicum »

Artistic director& Founder

Juan Carlos Muñoz

Baroque mandolin


Juan Carlos Muñoz has studied with Sylvain Dagosto in France. He is a graduate of the  Conservatoire d’Esch/Alzette and graduated in the mandolin from the « Hochschule für Musik » in Cologne after studying with Professor Marga Wilden-Hüsgen. While still very young he embarked on a concert career, giving pride of place right from the start to constant and ever deepening study of the Baroque mandolin and early music in general. [...]

keep reading

Artistic director& Founder

Mari Fe Pavón

Baroque Mandolin


Cradled to the sound of the guitar since childhood, Mari Fe Pavón begins the study of the mandolin at a very young age with the teachers P. Chamorro and Caridad Simón and thus discovers a few years later the experience of orchestra and soloist in the orchestra of his city, under the direction of Pedro Chamorro. She also began studying guitar with Manuel Muñoz. She recorded her first record at the age of 15 with the same ensemble, and subsequently studied at the Conservatory of Alcázar de San Juan (Spain) and at the Conservatory of Music in Esch / Alzette in Luxembourg. [...]

keep reading

RETOUR AUX SOURCES:RENAISSANCE D’UNE MUSIQUE OUBLIEE

L’ensemble Artemandoline


Avec leur ensemble « Artemandoline» créé en 2001, Juan Carlos Muñoz et Mari Fe Pavón raniment des fonds musicaux endormis et dispersés dans les bibliothèques européennes. Cette recherche est mise en valeur par le travail qui s’ancre dans une démarche musicologique et historique. Cette réflexion à la fois savante et inspirée, n’a qu’un but : faire découvrir au public le répertoire de la mandoline baroque bien souvent encore peu connu.

Suivant cette idéologie les musiciens jouent sur instruments d’époque et ont pour goût commun d’explorer différentes techniques de jeu et d’interprétation, avec une analyse permanente d’authenticité, de ferveur et de pertinence dans l’expression. Tels sont les moyens qui sont mis en œuvre depuis plus de dix ans par les musiciens d’Artemandoline pour mieux rendre justice aux œuvres de Scarlatti, Vivaldi, Valentini et leurs contemporains. Très rapidement primées par les critiques et plébiscitées par le public, les prestations d’Artemandoline génèrent toujours des impulsions nouvelles tant dans l’interprétation que dans le choix de leurs programmes. Exigence artistique, soif de découverte et enthousiasme communicatif, tels sont les maîtres mots de l’ensemble.

Ils participent ainsi au nouvel essor qu’elle prend dans le monde entier à travers leur enseignement, leurs stages, leurs concerts et leurs éditions. En effet, l’ensemble baroque « Artemandoline » est un des pionniers en ce domaine où il s’est forgé une réputation internationale. En peu de temps, l’ensemble a trouvé son style, a prouvé sa qualité instrumentale et s’est ainsi constitué une véritable identité. Artemandoline s’est établi, dès sa création au premier rang des formations les plus renommées dans le domaine de la pratique d’exécution historique sur cordes pincées. Aussi bien le public que les critiques sont immédiatement enthousiasmées par leur style musical et vivant.

Ils sont régulièrement invités en France et à l’étranger à l’occasion de nombreux festivals consacrés à la musique ancienne, tels que :

Konzerthaus BerlinFestival de musique ancienne de SimianeFestival de musique ancienne de Saint-Guilhem-le-DésertFestival des musiques anciennes de l’Abbaye de SylvanèsEncontros de Música Antiga de Loulé« Stockholm Early Music Festival »« Bach Chamber Days », Riga« Tage Alter Musik Regensburg »Festival Musique et Nature à BaugesFestival de Musique Ancienne du MaraisFestival de Musique Baroque en Famenne ArdenneFestival de Chisinau, Moldavia

Early Music Festival BelgradeStockstädter MusiktageMiercurea Early Festival (Romania)Münsterland FestivalGröpelinger BarockFestival 1001 NotesBrunico Music FestivalGaudete Early Music FestivalMonza e Brianza Early Music FestivalFestival « Musique & Nature à Bauges »Wroclaw Cantans « Forum Musicum »

Direction artistique& Fondateur

Juan Carlos Muñoz

Mandoline baroque


Juan Carlos Muñoz commenca ses études de mandoline avec le Prof. Sylvain Dagosto à Paris. Il est diplômé du Conservatoire d'Esch /Alzette (L) et de la «Hochschule für Musik» de Cologne auprès de la Prof. Marga Wilden-Hüsgen. Dès son jeune âge, il s'engage dans une carrière de concertiste, privilégiant dès le départ l'étude constante et approfondie de la mandoline baroque et de la musique ancienne en général. [...]

continuer à lire

Direction artistique& Fondatrice

Mari Fe Pavón

Mandoline baroque


Bercée au son de la guitare depuis l'enfance, Mari Fe Pavón commence l’étude de la mandoline très jeune avec les professeurs P. Chamorro et Caridad Simón  et découvre ainsi quelques années plus tard l'expérience d'orchestre et de soliste, au sein de l'orchestre de sa ville, sous la direction de Pedro Chamorro. Elle débute également des études de guitare auprès de Manuel Muñoz. Elle enregistre son premier disque à l'âge de 15 ans avec ce même ensemble, et se perfectionne ensuite au Conservatoire d’Alcázar de San Juan et au Conservatoire de Musique d’Esch/Alzette au Luxembourg. [...]

continuer à lire